1. News
  2. Jobs
  3. Calendar
  1. Road Closed due to Construction

    Due to re-construction work, 210th Street from Palm East to 2616 210th Street will be closed. The closure will last approximately 1 week. Read on...
  2. Construction To Begin On Palm Avenue

    On Monday, June 24th, Palm Ave. will be closed to thru traffic from 280th Street north to IA Hwy 92 for grading and surfacing. Read on...
  3. 2018-19 Washington County Communications Project

View All
  1. Courthouse with Flowers

    Washington County

    Washington County was originally organized and established in 1839 as Slaughter County; however, residents soon changed the name to Washington County in honor of George Washington.

    Washington County covers 556.75 square miles and is located in Southeast Iowa - the richest area of America's agricultural region. As of the 2010 census, the population was 21,704. The nine incorporated cities in the county are Ainsworth, Brighton, Coppock, Crawfordsville, Kalona, Riverside, Washington, Wellman, and West Chester.