County Treasurer

The Washington County Courthouse is currently closed indefinitely due to the Covid-19 pandemic.  Please call 319-653-7721 for help with your transaction and with alternative payment methods.

Duties and Responsibilities

The County Treasurer is elected at general election every 4 years, with responsibilities generally focusing on four distinct functions of county government:
  1. Finance
  2. Property Tax
  3. Motor Vehicle
  4. Drivers License
As the county's chief financial officer, the treasurer is responsible for the receipt, management, disbursement, and investment of all monies paid to Washington County.


     Office Hours:  Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.
       * No driver's license issuance after 4:00 pm
       * Knowledge Tests:  8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
       * Car Driving Tests:  By Appointment


Jeff Garrett, Treasurer
Jolene Colthurst, Deputy Treasurer
Teresa Long, Deputy Treasurer
 Lindsay Adam, Deputy Treasurer
Mary Sue Northup, Clerk
Deanna Bertelli, Clerk