1. News
  2. Jobs
  3. Calendar
  1. Bridge Replacement to Begin on 130th Street

    Beginning Monday, January 27th, 130th Street will be closed approximately a half mile east of Hickory Avenue, in the northwest part of Washington County, for a bridge replacement project. Read on...
  2. COVID 19 - Mental Health Information

  3. COVID 19 - Washington County Public Health Link

View All
  1. Courthouse with Flowers

    Washington County

    Washington County was originally organized and established in 1839 as Slaughter County; however, residents soon changed the name to Washington County in honor of George Washington.

    Washington County covers 556.75 square miles and is located in Southeast Iowa - the richest area of America's agricultural region. As of the 2010 census, the population was 21,704. The nine incorporated cities in the county are Ainsworth, Brighton, Coppock, Crawfordsville, Kalona, Riverside, Washington, Wellman, and West Chester.